Volcano Vegan Chili

So, as I mentioned on Twitter, last night I spent refining my chili recipe. Since going Vegan I’ve made chili a handful of times and each time I’ve made it different. The two previous times I tried really herd to up the vegetable content by putting carrots into it and boiling them until they were paste. The problem with this is that it gives the chili a sweet undercurrent that cannot be balanced out without really making it taste weird and “un-chili-like.”

This time I dropped the carrots and went with more traditional ingredients. The only exception is that I added edemame to really kick up the protein in the chili. It came out awesome so I’ve decide it’s time to set the basics of the recipe down to paper and share it with my fellow vegan voyagers.

Vegan Volcano Chili

Ingredients:
1 28 oz can crushed tomatoes
1 6 oz can tomato paste
4 cups vegetable stock
6 15.5 oz cans assorted beans
2 cups shelled, cooked soybeans
1 whole onion, coarsely chopped
6 grape tomatoes, quartered or 3 large tomatoes, cubed
5 green bell peppers
1 yellow/red/orange bell pepper
2 chipotle peppers, chopped
4 cups water
1 onion bouillon cube
6 T. or 6 cloves chopped garlic
1/2 cup chili powder
2 T. paprika
1/2 jar sweet Mexican chilis or 1 jar fire-roasted red peppers
1 t. dry mustard
1 t. white pepper
1 t. fresh ground black pepper
3 T. red pepper flakes
2 t. Bragg’s Liquid Aminos
1 t. turmeric (optional)

Preparation:

Sautee the onion, garlic and peppers in 1/2 cup of vegetable broth. After these are tender add liquid ingredients followed by remaining ingredients. Simmer for 20 minutes.

Further Information:
The amounts of tomatoes and peppers vary depending on what we have on hand. Sometimes I use canned tomatoes instead of fresh if it’s winter. In summer we have tons so I tend to add more. Sometimes I add hot peppers if I have them available.
This makes a lot of chili probably 10-12 large bowls. It freezes well. I serve it topped with yellow mustard and Huy Fong chili-garlic sauce because I like it magma chamber hot. If you want to cool it down a bit you can serve it topped with vegan cream cheese or vegan sour cream. I sometimes will add relish, chopped onion and sauerkraut if I want it chili dog style.

Leave a Reply

