Transitioning to a Vegan Lifestyle

On oatmeal…

A lot of people like oatmeal. I don’t. I never have. It’s mushy and I have texture issues.

Lately we’ve started eating steel cut oats. These are more like grits, which I like, and they’re a lot better for you being the whole husked groat that has just split into pieces.

So I added Huy Fong chili garlic sauce, soy sauce, and a mushroom I sauteed in water and spices and it was awesome.

I love Oatmeal now. If you hate sweet cloying oatmeal this is the way to go. Plus it’s very low in fat and has more fiber than more processed forms of oats. Another benefit is that you can get bulk steel cut oats for cheaper than the packaged brands per pound in most supermarkets that stock bulk foods.

Peppers. I love them and recommend them to everyone. Hot peppers, Sweet peppers, Red peppers, Green peppers, They’re all great. I prefer them really hot and ground into paste with a bit of vinegar and garlic. Eating peppers has made the transition to Veganism pretty smooth. I eat hot food and it’s tasty and complex, not just fiery.

I’ve also begun to compile some lists of things we, my wife and I, need/use/believe as Vegans.

1. Gas pills: vegan food leads to lots of gas and unless you like the idea of blowing up the room all day then you need a little enzymatic assistance. Now, mind you, vegan gas is usually odorless but that doesn’t make it soundless and I share an office with four other people.
2. Bacon Bits: I know these are highly processed and full of salt but we use it by spoonful. They helped with meat flavor cravings.
3. Seasonings: Spices, herbs, more peppers. Get exotic, buy gourmet. You don’t need a lot of some stuff but buy as wide a variety as you can afford because if your food tastes good, junk food will be less appealing.
4. Find new ways to make old favorites. My wife adapted her traditional meatloaf recipe and it is awesome. If you can eat some comfort foods and still eat vegan then you tend to be a happier Vegan.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. mrred
    Apr 23, 2009 @ 03:36:18

    Love this blog I’ll be back when I have more time.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

